Digital Reality

Where does Digital Reality take us?

Digital Reality is a term that pragmatically describes the broad spectrum of technologies and experiences that digitally simulate reality in one way or another using our senses.

Typical examples are of a visual nature. They include virtual reality, augmented reality and mixed reality. In addition, other technologies such as spatial audio and the simulation of haptics are paving their way to create more immersive and realistic experiences. The first steps are already being taken in the simulation of smell, taste and temperature!

All these technologies are not self-explanatory and are often only in the process of being ready for the market. Certain solutions have already established themselves and are an integral part of the processes of large and medium-sized companies.

INCAS Training has set itself the task of making these technologies available to everyone and transferring them from the ivory tower of corporations to the broad corporate landscape. In our seminars we impart the know-how to learn all these solutions.

For this purpose we have covered the entire production pipeline in the seminar program: From the first scribble to the intelligent xR application - every step is anchored in our course program and every interested party can - depending on their level of knowledge - start at the position that suits them best.

Visual Helpers

Which direction do xR glasses (HMDs) take?

After the first milestones in HMD technology in recent years with the Oculus Rift, HTC Vive and HoloLens and the many other - often comparable - models from other manufacturers, a trend towards more mobility, higher resolution and better tracking is now emerging.

Basically, the relevant manufacturers have now recognized that ergonomics (what a surprise!) is crucial for a long-term breakthrough not only in companies, but also in the private sector. The pioneers in this area (as of mid-2019) in the field of resolution are the Varjo VR-1, which we personally evaluated. In the field of mobility and ergonomics, the Oculus Quest for VR and the HoloLens 2 for AR (Mixed Reality). This assessment is of course based on subjective assessments of the author, but is also evaluated in the relevant media.

Anyone who wants to try it out is welcome to do so: In the VR Experience Zone at INCAS Training in Krefeld you always have the opportunity to put on your current xR glasses and try them out in comfort!

VR Sickness

Motion Sickness and why (almost) nobody talks about it anymore

In spite of the increasing distribution of the current generation of xR glasses, which is determined by accurate tracking, we are confronted with the statement "I know VR, it makes me sick" in everyday life.

As helpful as the first VR applications on mobile phones in cardboard boxes were for the spread of the VR idea, there were simply far too many roller coasters whose only motivation seemed to be to spoil virtual reality for the users. When using VR glasses with 3 degrees of freedom - no matter if it's a mobile phone in a cardboard box, a Gear VR or an Oculus Go - please only use it for suitable content that doesn't force the user to move. Glasses with 6 degrees of freedom, which allow translation and rotation in all 3 directions, allow a much more natural feeling of space.

And with the motionsickness avoiding teleportation to locomotion instead of a forced translation, nobody gets sick anymore nowadays. Why should it be? The movement perceived by the eye corresponds - as if no glasses were on - to the perception of our organ of equilibrium. No reason for sickness!

Developer paths

What skills does an xR developer need?

A job advertisement of Daimler Protics for a software developer for mobile augmented reality solutions reads as follows (excerpt / translation):

 

 

Requirements

  • Completed diploma or master's degree in media informatics, computer visualistics, computer science or comparable subject area
  • (Several years) professional experience as developer of visual/interactive applications with Unity, ideally for mobile platforms (iOS/Android)
  • Enthusiasm and openness for new technologies such as Augmented Reality
  • Very good C# knowledge and skills for modular and object-oriented programming
  • Adeptness in dealing with Git for distributed version management
  • (First) experience in dealing with agile work (Scrum)
  • Experience in the preparation of low-poly 3D models (e.g. with Autodesk Maya / 3DS Max) for real-time visualizations would be desirable.
  • Ideally knowledge of human-computer interaction, UX and UI design as well as experience with Augmented Reality and Computer Vision SDKs.

Without going into detail: INCAS Training does not offer diploma or master studies, but you can learn all other skills in our courses!

Digital Reality

Wohin führt uns Digital Reality?

Digital Reality ist ein Begriff, der ganz pragmatisch das breite Spektrum von Technologien und Experiences beschreiben soll, die die Realität auf die eine oder andere Weise mittels unserer Sinne digital simulieren. Typische Beispiele sind visueller Natur. Sie umfassen die Bereiche Virtuelle Realität, Augmented Reality und Mixed Reality. Daneben bahnen sich aber auch andere Technologien wie 3D-Audio und die Simulation von Haptik ihren Weg, um in Summe immersivere und realistischere Erlebnisse zu schaffen.

Erste Schritte werden hier auch schon bei der Simulation von Geruch, Geschmack und Temperatur gemacht!
Alle diese Technologien sind nicht selbsterklärend und befinden sich oft erst im Prozess hin zur Marktreife. Bestimmte Lösungen haben sich bereits etabliert und sind fester Bestandteil der Prozesse großer und mittelständiger Unternehmen.

INCAS Training hat sich die Aufgabe gemacht, dieses Technologien jedem verfügbar zu machen und sie aus dem Elfenbeinturm der Konzerne in die breite Unternehmenslandschaft zu überführen. Wir vermitteln in unserem Seminarangebot das KnowHow, alle diese Lösungen zu erlernen.
Dazu haben wir die gesamte Produktionspipeline im Seminarprogramm abgedeckt: Vom ersten Scribble bis zur intelligenten xR Anwendung – jeder Schritt ist bei uns im Kursprogramm verankert und jeder Interessent kann – je nach Wissensstand – an der für ihn passenden Stelle einsteigen.

Visuelle Helferlein

Wohin geht der Weg bei den xR-Brillen (HMDs)?

Nach den ersten Meilensteinen in der HMD Technologie in den vergangenen Jahren mit der Oculus Rift, der HTC Vive und der HoloLens und der vielen weiteren - oft vergleichbaren – Modelle anderer Hersteller zeichnet sich aktuell ein Trend zu mehr Mobilität, höherer Auflösung und besserem Tracking ab.

Grundsätzlich haben die einschlägigen Hersteller mittlerweile erkannt, dass Ergonomie (welch Überraschung!) für einen langfristigen Durchbruch nicht nur in den Unternehmen, sondern auch im privaten Bereich entscheidend ist. Vorreiter sind hier (Stand Mitte 2019) im Bereich Auflösung die von uns persönlich getestete Varjo VR-1. Im Bereich Mobilität und Ergonomie die Oculus Quest für VR und die HoloLens 2 für AR (Bzw. Mixed Reality). Diese Einschätzung beruht natürlich auf subjektiven Einschätzungen des Autors, wird aber auch soe in der einschlägigen Presse beurteilt.

Wer Lust hat sich einmal durchzuprobieren: In der VR Experience Zone bei Incas Training in Krefeld haben Sie jederzeit die Möglichkeit, sich einmal due aktuelen Brillen aufzusetzen und in Ruhe auszubrobieren!

VR-Übelkeit

Motion Sickness und warum (fast) niemand mehr darüber spricht

Trotz der immer stärkeren Verbreitung der durch sauberes Tracking bestimmten aktuelle Generation der xR-Brillen, werden wir im Alltag immer wieder mit der Aussage „VR kenn ich, davon wird mir übel“ konfrontiert. So hilfreich die ersten VR-Anwendungen auf Mobiltelefonen in Pappkartons für die Verbreitung der Idee auch waren – es gab einfach viel zu viele Achterbahnen, deren einzige Motivation zu sein schien, den Anwendern Virtual Reality zu vermiesen.

Wenn eine VR Brille mit 3 Freiheitsgraden – egal ob es ein Mobiltelefon im Pappkarton, eine Gear VR oder eine Oculus Go – genutzt wird, dann bitte nur für geeigneten Content, der den Nutzer keine Bewegung aufzwingt. Brillen mit 6 Freiheitsgraden, die also Translation und Rotation in je alle 3 Richtungen erlauben, lassen ein viel natürlicheres Raumgefühl zu. Und mit der motionsickness vermeidenden Teleportation zur Fortbewegung statt einer aufgezwungenen Translation wird heutzutage auch niemandem mehr übel.

Warum auch? Die vom Auge wahrgenommene Bewegung entspricht ja – so als hätte man keine Brille auf – der Wahrnehmung unseres Gleichgewichtsorgans. Kein Grund für Übelkeit!

 

Entwickler-Wege

Was für Fähigkeiten benötigt ein xR Entwicker ?

Eine Stellenausschreibung von Daimler Protics für einen Software-Entwickler für mobile Augmented Reality Lösungen liest sich wie folgt (Ausschnitt):

 

 

Fachliche Anforderungen

  • Abgeschlossenes Diplom- oder Masterstudium der Medieninformatik, Computervisualistik, Informatik oder vergleichbaren Fachrichtung
  • (Mehrjährige) Berufserfahrung als Entwickler visueller/interaktiver Anwendungen mit Unity, idealerweise für mobile Plattformen (iOS/Android)
  • Begeisterung und Offenheit für neue Technologien wie Augmented Reality
  • Sehr gute C#-Kenntnisse und Skills zur modularen und objektorientierten Programmierung
  • Versiertheit im Umgang mit Git zur verteilten Versionsverwaltung
  • (Erste) Erfahrung im Umgang mit agilem Arbeiten (Scrum)
  • Erfahrung in der Aufbereitung von Low-Poly 3D-Modellen (z.B. mit Autodesk Maya / 3DS Max) für Echtzeit-Visualisierungen wäre wünschenswert
  • Idealerweise Kenntnisse in der Mensch-Computer-Interaktion, UX- und UI-Design sowie Erfahrungen mit Augmented Reality und Computer Vision SDKs.

Ohne ins Detail zu gehen: Ein Diplom- oder Masterstudium bietet Incas Training nicht, aber alle anderen Skills können Sie in unseren Kursen erlernen!